Clearing your browser history

Click here to open in a new window

This article explains how to clear your browser history and the files it saves on your computer (cache).

 Instructions

When you use a browser like Google Chrome, for example, it saves some information from websites in its cache and cookies. Clearing them fixes certain problems, like loading or formatting issues on sites and login issues such as remembering old passwords rather than new ones. 

To clear your cache, cookies and web history on Google Chrome please follow the instructions below:

  1. On your computer, open your Google Chrome web browser. 

  2. In the top right-hand corner, click the three ellipsis dots (pictured)

  3. Click “More tools” and then “Clear browsing data”

  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select “All time”

  5. Then make sure “Cookies and other site data” and “Cached images and files” boxes are ticked.  

  6. Then click “Clear data” to complete. 

You may now find that websites won't remember your login details and you will have to write them in again.

Highlight important information in a panel like this one. To edit this panel's color or style, select one of the options in the menu.